Dead kids don’t convince gun lovers to ban guns. Here’s why.

Anne Marie Wells
8 min readMay 25, 2022

I was engaged to a competitive shooter. We were an odd couple, and our differing political views sat at the top of the list of reasons why we didn’t work out.

Photo by Colin Lloyd on Unsplash

[This article is available in audio on YouTube.]

Will and I met on Tinder.

We met up at a local bar and hit it off. We even made plans on our first date to go hiking together the very next day. When he showed up at my place before our hike, he had a toolbox in his hand. While talking the night before, I had mentioned at some point during our conversation how the faucet of my kitchen sink sprayed out from the bottom and drove me bananas. As the maintenance director for a hotel in town, he brought what he needed to fix it. And he did.

I was swooning.

Ultimately, our relationship didn’t work out, and not for any wild reason. We were just an odd couple and didn’t belong together. We each made a lot of concessions in our relationship to respect the other person’s polar opposite desires/interests/values.

I knew he had a passion for guns and competitive shooting going into our relationship, and I knew moving in together meant I’d be moving in with his guns as well. He kept most of them in a safe in his storage unit, but others were kept in our home. He made his own…

--

--